Friday, April 26, 2019

Research with Kristy Fairlamb, YA Author of LUCID & a Giveaway!

TOUR SCHEDULE
One of my favorite aspects of writing fiction is the research. It's the part where I get to lose myself in someone else's data, ideas, theories, or facts, and then manipulate them to fit my story. It's so much fun to do!

Today, I have Kristy Fairlamb here to share her personal experience of researching topics and
information while writing her new release LUCID. 


Using Research In Novel Writing: An Account
by Kristy Fairlamb

I didn’t do a heap of research before I started writing, but I was intrigued by the dreaming element of this story so that’s where I focused my research to start with. Most of what I learned about lucid dreaming doesn’t really apply to my character, Lucy, because her dreams are nothing like your typical lucid dreams, but it was good to have something as a starting point. 

Most of the research for the book involved a strange mix of things that were often minor touches to add truth to certain aspects of the story. I searched for info on what it’s like to die a certain way, which brought up some very interesting and depressing articles. I needed info on a particular medication and its side-effects. I researched brain injuries but had to call on a doctor friend to help when this impacted some scenes and I needed to make it more believable. I looked up details on Queen Victoria and how Jet is made.

I did a lot of reading on aeroplane crashes and watched episodes of air-crash investigator. I needed to come up with causes for a plane to realistically crash, which was not easy. I came up with a scenario that helped me write the scenes I needed. But when things got serious, I called in an expert. I had a contact through a writer’s group who was an expert on aeroplanes and had worked in Air Traffic Control. He helped me come up with an even better scenario for my crash. 

Thank you, Kristy!

Now let's take a peek at Kristy's book!

BAM | Chapters | Indies | Amazon 
 TBD | GOODREADS
LUCID
by Kristy Fairlamb

Released: April 23, 2019
Publisher: Lakewater Press

A terrifying power. A horrifying curse. 

Lucy Piper lives a lonely existence on the precipice between life and death. She possesses the horrifying ability to resurrect real-life tragic events in her nightmares, reliving over and over, as if she were there, the last few moments before the victim takes their final breath. Car accidents, drownings, plane crashes – Lucy has seen it all. No one understands what it’s like living death by night and fearing sleep by day.

When Tyler Sims and his family move to town to escape past traumas, Lucy is drawn to him. The two of them are linked through their dreams, and with Tyler’s trust and friendship, hope for a brighter future returns to Lucy’s world. But Tyler's presence awakens something else in Lucy, and with this new knowledge, she will be forced to make impossible decisions. Decisions that will change history, and the future.

Chilling, haunting and compelling, this novel is the first in a two-part series for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Hidden Memory of Objects that will leave you breathless for days.
Kristy Fairlamb is an Australian author of the Young Adult Lucid series coming out in 2019. She spends her days drinking coffee and torturing her characters with loads of tension – both love related and the nail biting kind. Long before her days of writing began she spent half her childhood in a make believe world; daydreaming about growing up, falling in love, and travelling the world. She’s worked as a nanny in country England, a junior matron in a boy’s boarding school south of London, a governess in East Timor, and made coffees and cleared tables in the New South Wales snow fields.                                                                                                                                                                                        She lives with her husband, teenage daughter, and two sons in the beautiful Adelaide Hills where they’re lucky enough to get occasional visits from the local koalas. She’s terrible at gardening, likes her bookshelves sorted by colour, and recently checked off a lifelong dream of jumping from a plane. When she’s not writing or daydreaming about her stories you’ll find her reading, cooking for her family, or doing anything to avoid the housework.
Website • Twitter • Facebook • Instagram • Goodreads


a Rafflecopter giveaway

If you're a writer, how much research do you do? 


4 comments:

  1. Fascinating stuff, thank you!

    I write science fiction, so I have to do quite a lot of research (you can see some of it at www.writing-the-message.com). Like Kristy, I think, I now write the first draft and then research.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Research leads to some interesting subjects, doesn't it?
    Congratulations, Kristy.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Research is one of my favorite parts of writing. It's great that you had experts to fall back on! Congrats :)

    ReplyDelete

!SPLAT Your Awesomeness! I love to hear from you!

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

MY STATS